‘We Were Liars’ by E. Lockhart

This review may include spoilers
3.5/5 |Scriber Rating
Young Adult, Contemporary, Mystery |Genre
240 pages |Kindle Edition
May 13th 2014 |Published
Synopsis:
A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from National Book Award finalist and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart.

Read it.
And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE

My Review:

Despite the hype and the negative reviews about this book. I still read it and I am glad I did. The ‘secret’ was a surprise to me. That might have been because I wasn’t thinking about the reviews or trying to figure anything out. I just read it for what it was. Maybe if I took breaks whilst reading, I would’ve caught on.

I enjoyed reading it. It kept my attention, not once did I get bored. I tried to get inside the mind of the protagonist, and it was quite easy for me to do so with Cadence.
It was written in free verse, which was odd at some places but it did suit the story at times. I loved the fairy tale aspects. Something about the ‘once upon a time’ narrative draws me into the story deeper.

Now things are about to get a little negative. Just hear me out. I think Cadence was a bad choice as a protagonist. I would have loved it if this was written from Gat’s POV. Just imagine a young boy, is an outsider. This lifestyle is new to him. He must witness it as something strange. They live on an island? He gets sucked into one naive girls ideas because he is passionate about important things and standing up to people. So when he witnesses Cadences’ passion, he doesn’t object. He is still a kid.

When the incident happened, I cried. Not because I felt for Cadence. I felt sorry for the other people involved. Felt a little sorry for Cadence, because ‘how do you live with yourself after that?’

It was heartbreaking.

All in all, it was a good story and it was told beautifully.

BTW Hallucinations makes more sense than ‘ghosts’. Don’t you think?

I hope this was helpful. Feel free to leave a comment below and let me know what you thought of the review or the book.
Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

