‘Eleanor and Park’ by Rainbow Rowell

‘Eleanor and Park’ by Rainbow Rowell

This review may include spoilers

Young Adult, Romance, Contemporary |Genre
335 pages |Kindle Edition
February 26th 2013 |Published

Synopsis:
Bono met his wife in high school, Park says.
So did Jerry Lee Lewis, Eleanor answers.
I’m not kidding, he says.
You should be, she says, we’re 16.
What about Romeo and Juliet?
Shallow, confused, then dead.
I love you, Park says.
Wherefore art thou, Eleanor answers.
I’m not kidding, he says.
You should be.

Set over the course of one school year in 1986, this is the story of two star-crossed misfits—smart enough to know that first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try. When Eleanor meets Park, you’ll remember your own first love—and just how hard it pulled you under.

My review:
Honestly, I wasn’t interested in reading about a couple of kids from the 80’s, but I was intrigued after I had heard many people speak about how much they enjoyed reading this. I am glad I gave it a chance because the ‘80’s thing’ was such a stupid reason to avoid this book.

The characters; Eleanor and Park, are the cutest (if cute characters is something that the puts you off reading the book, the cuteness isn’t overbearing, you have to pay attention to the little things they do). The way they interact with one another is heart-warming.

My favourite scenes are of the two on the bus, reading comic books. The way they interact is just great. I was instantly attached to Eleanor. And after reading the school bus scenes, I began to like Park too.

However, I didn’t expect for it to be sad. There was a lot going on in Eleanor’s life. I couldn’t believe it ended the way it had. I was hoping for an epilogue; as it is set in the 80’s, I thought it would have been perfect to show what Eleanor and Park were up to now.
I really want to know what they’re lives are like in the 21st century.

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed reading ‘Eleanor and Park’; it is definitely one of my favourite books.

5/5 |Scriber Rating

I hope this was helpful. Feel free to leave a comment below and let me know what you thought of the review or the book.

Thanks for reading 🙂

One thought on “‘Eleanor and Park’ by Rainbow Rowell

Leave a Reply

