‘Bridge of Snow’ by Marie Rutkoski (The Winner’s Trilogy 0.5)

‘Bridge of Snow’ by Marie Rutkoski (The Winner’s Trilogy 0.5)

Read review if you have read The Winners Curse as it may include spoilers

4/5 | Scriber Rating
Young Adult, Fantasy, Short Stories | Genre
14 pages | Kindle Edition
January 28th 2014 | Published

Synopsis:
Ignore the stirrings of war. Let the carriage to a royal ball wait. There is a story to be told: of a starless night, a mother and her sick son, and a mortal who falls in love with the snow god, and will do anything to have her…

My Review:

I read this because after I had read the Winners Curse, I wanted to read more. I didn’t want the book to end. And at that time, the second book wasn’t even out yet.

This was heart-warming and only 14 pages. I learned much more about Arin. I can imagine how precious he was to his mother. It made me understand their relationship and see how he must have felt with how his life has turned out.
I imagine this sensitive young boy that is very comfortable in his home, doesn’t like to be away from his family and loves the attention he receives from his parents.

What makes Arin’s story so sad is, he was a vulnerable child and he was forced to toughen up in the worst possible way. I can’t imagine how alone and afraid he must have been when he loses his family and was forced into slavery.

This short story was probably the last memory he had of his mother.
It’s truly heart breaking and you never want children to experience such pain.
Even this 14 page e-book was captivating. I cannot believe how much I care for this character. I want to understand how Marie Rutkoski is able to make the reader envision these characters as real people.

When I read this short story, I envisioned my nephew and his relationship with my sister. This was probably why I cared more for the character.
My Nephew is 4 and I still see him as a baby and whilst reading this, I saw Arin as a baby too, even though I think he might be 10. I saw him through his mothers eyes.

Read the Winners Curse and then read the Bridge of Snow. Hopefully you won’t regret it.

I hope this was helpful. Feel free to leave a comment below and let me know what you thought of the review or the book.

Thanks for reading 🙂

2 thoughts on “‘Bridge of Snow’ by Marie Rutkoski (The Winner’s Trilogy 0.5)

Leave a Reply

