‘Summer Trilogy’ by Jenny Han

‘Summer Trilogy’ by Jenny Han

This review and synopsis may include spoilers

The Summer I Turned Pretty (Summer #1)

Young Adult, Romance, Contemporary |Genre
292 pages |Kindle Edition
December 21st 2010 |Published

Synopsis:

Belly measures her life in summers. Everything good, everything magical happens between the months of June and August. Winters are simply a time to count the weeks until the next summer, a place away from the beach house, away from Susannah, and most importantly, away from Jeremiah and Conrad. They are the boys that Belly has known since her very first summer–they have been her brother figures, her crushes, and everything in between. But one summer, one terrible and wonderful summer, the more everything changes, the more it all ends up just the way it should have been all along.

My Review:

‘entertaining’, ‘frustrating’

I love to read books like this when I am stressed about coursework and just need a good distraction, something easy to follow.

Jenny Han did a great job with the characters. The storyline and some of the dialogue was off but the characters were realistic. The relationships between characters were great.

Every character was likable except for the protagonist (name: Belly), who was childish, annoying and frustrating (which I think was done on purpose as Belly is young). But at times, I felt sorry for her.

This book is very easy to follow. You just have to be patient with this because the next two books get better.

3/5 |Scriber Rating

It’s Not Summer Without You (Summer #2)

292 pages |Kindle Edition
April 27th 2010 |Published

Synopsis:

Can summer be truly summer without Cousins Beach?

It used to be that Belly counted the days until summer, until she was back at Cousins Beach with Conrad and Jeremiah. But not this year. Not after Susannah got sick again and Conrad stopped caring. Everything that was right and good has fallen apart, leaving Belly wishing summer would never come.

But when Jeremiah calls saying Conrad has disappeared, Belly knows what she must do to make things right again. And it can only happen back at the beach house, the three of them together, the way things used to be. If this summer really and truly is the last summer, it should end the way it started–at Cousins Beach.

My Review:

‘entertaining’

Again kept me entertained. Fast paced. Protagonist is too childish, but I would like to say that some people get what they deserve in this..hint his name begins with C. Happy with the way it ended.

3/5 |Scriber Rating

We’ll Always Have Summer (Summer #3)

291 pages |Kindle Edition
April 26th 2011 |Published

Synopsis:

One girl.

Two brothers.

The biggest decision of her life . . .

Just when she thought she had all the answers . . .
Isabel has only ever loved two boys, Conrad and Jeremiah Fisher.

One broke her heart; the other made her happier than she ever thought she’d be. But each brother is keeping a secret, and this summer Isabel must choose between the Fisher boys, once and for all. Which brother will it be?

My Review:

‘happy with the ending’

This one deserves a 4 out of 5 rating for the character development and the arguments between Isabel and Conrad. Isabel did not annoy me in this. I liked that she finally spoke up. Jenny Han chose to show the protagonist in the first two books as immature and a bad judge of character, because she was.

The name Belly did not bother me too much but Isabel is such a pretty name, it’s a shame she got stuck with Belly for all books. It would have been nice if she was called Isabel in this to show her development and signify that she’s an adult.

Overall was happy with the improvements made.

4/5 |Scriber Rating

I hope this was helpful. Feel free to leave a comment below and let me know what you thought of the review or the book.

Thanks for reading 🙂

5 thoughts on “‘Summer Trilogy’ by Jenny Han

    • Thanks!
      Gotta be honest, I was getting really frustrated with the protagonist for, I think the first two books. But strangely I was rooting for her. I wanted her to be smart and get what she wants.

      I dont know if I would’ve read all three books if I had to wait a year in between. Its best to marathon these.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hmm, interesting! Definitely looking forward to see what my thoughts will be on these books. 🙂
        Don’t have the time at this moment to marathon read these since I have so many books I’ve already chosen to read (especially for the Popsugar challenge) but I’ll definitely try when I get the chance. Thanks for the tip! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

