Currently Reading List of Books

Generally when people tell you what book they’re currently reading. It’s usually one book. At most it might be three. I don’t personally know anyone with a ‘currently reading’ list longer than mine, which is why I decided to write this.

Before I begin, there were some books I wanted to add here but I’d only read maybe 30 pages so I decided not to add those books in this list.

Currently reading…

Book #1

These Broken Stars

These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

Synopsis:

Luxury spaceliner Icarus suddenly plummets from hyperspace into the nearest planet. Lilac LaRoux and Tarver Merendsen survive — alone. Lilac is the daughter of the richest man in the universe. Tarver comes from nothing, a cynical war hero. Both journey across the eerie deserted terrain for help. Everything changes when they uncover the truth.

The Starbound Trilogy: Three worlds. Three love stories. One enemy.

I’ve read 300 pages out of a 374 page book.
I’m really enjoying this, I like how level headed the characters are and how they think before they act. It’s very suspenseful and I haven’t been able to guess the mystery.

Book #2

 The kingdom of little wounds

The Kingdom of Little Wounds by Susan Cokal

Synopsis:

On the eve of Princess Sophia’s wedding, the Scandinavian city of Skyggehavn prepares to fete the occasion with a sumptuous display of riches: brocade and satin and jewels, feasts of sugar fruit and sweet spiced wine. Yet beneath the veneer of celebration, a shiver of darkness creeps through the palace halls. A mysterious illness plagues the royal family, threatening the lives of the throne’s heirs, and a courtier’s wolfish hunger for the king’s favors sets a devious plot in motion.

Here in the palace at Skyggehavn, things are seldom as they seem — and when a single errant prick of a needle sets off a series of events that will alter the course of history, the fates of seamstress Ava Bingen and mute nursemaid Midi Sorte become irrevocably intertwined with that of mad Queen Isabel. As they navigate a tangled web of palace intrigue, power-lust, and deception, Ava and Midi must carve out their own survival any way they can.

153 pages – 554 page book.

Its hard for me to believe I’ve actually read this many pages of this book. I really want to finish it but I cant get into the story. Not ready to DNF.

Book #3

The retribution of mara dyer

The Retribution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

Synopsis:

Mara Dyer wants to believe there’s more to the lies she’s been told.
There is.

She doesn’t stop to think about where her quest for the truth might lead.
She should.

She never had to imagine how far she would go for vengeance.
She will now.

Loyalties are betrayed, guilt and innocence tangle, and fate and chance collide in this shocking conclusion to Mara Dyer’s story.

Retribution has arrived.

40 pages – 481 page book.

I was enjoying this. I read the first two books and loved those. I want to know how it’ll end, unfortunately I’m at a point where I’m a little bored, I feel like skipping a few pages, at the same time I dont want to skip anything just in case I miss some clues (this book is paranormal, mystery, young adult novel).

Book #4

ruin and rising

Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo

Synopsis:

The capital has fallen.

The Darkling rules Ravka from his shadow throne.

Now the nation’s fate rests with a broken Sun Summoner, a disgraced tracker, and the shattered remnants of a once-great magical army.

Deep in an ancient network of tunnels and caverns, a weakened Alina must submit to the dubious protection of the Apparat and the zealots who worship her as a Saint. Yet her plans lie elsewhere, with the hunt for the elusive firebird and the hope that an outlaw prince still survives.

Alina will have to forge new alliances and put aside old rivalries as she and Mal race to find the last of Morozova’s amplifiers. But as she begins to unravel the Darkling’s secrets, she reveals a past that will forever alter her understanding of the bond they share and the power she wields. The firebird is the one thing that stands between Ravka and destruction—and claiming it could cost Alina the very future she’s fighting for.

80 pages – 417 page book.

There’s something about Leigh Bardugo’s writing style, I cant get into. I really liked the first book. The second one took me a really long time to read and the third one is taking even longer. I’m not attached to any of the characters, but I want to know how it ends.

Book #5

red rising

Red Rising by Pierce Brown

Synopsis:

The Earth is dying. Darrow is a Red, a miner in the interior of Mars. His mission is to extract enough precious elements to one day tame the surface of the planet and allow humans to live on it. The Reds are humanity’s last hope.

Or so it appears, until the day Darrow discovers it’s all a lie. That Mars has been habitable – and inhabited – for generations, by a class of people calling themselves the Golds. A class of people who look down on Darrow and his fellows as slave labour, to be exploited and worked to death without a second thought.

Until the day that Darrow, with the help of a mysterious group of rebels, disguises himself as a Gold and infiltrates their command school, intent on taking down his oppressors from the inside. But the command school is a battlefield – and Darrow isn’t the only student with an agenda.

80 pages – 400 page book.

I’m liking it. I’m not in love with the writing style. The story is good. I haven’t gotten to a point where there’s any suspense.

Book #6

The martian

The Martian by Andy Weir

Synopsis:

Six days ago, astronaut Mark Watney became one of the first people to walk on Mars. Now, he’s sure he’ll be the first person to die there. After a dust storm nearly kills him & forces his crew to evacuate while thinking him dead, Mark finds himself stranded & completely alone with no way to even signal Earth that he’s alive—& even if he could get word out, his supplies would be gone long before a rescue could arrive. Chances are, though, he won’t have time to starve to death. The damaged machinery, unforgiving environment or plain-old “human error” are much more likely to kill him first. But Mark isn’t ready to give up yet. Drawing on his ingenuity, his engineering skills—& a relentless, dogged refusal to quit—he steadfastly confronts one seemingly insurmountable obstacle after the next. Will his resourcefulness be enough to overcome the impossible odds against him?

55% audiobook.
Cool idea, very interesting. I don’t think Mark is as funny as people say. I’m more intrigued by his quick thinking and problem solving. NASA is a little strange, maybe a little over the top. I can’t get used to the way they speak, I don’t imagine anyone talking like that (except in old movies).

I’ve heard some people say that its difficult for them to have a long currently reading list because they’ll forget what they’ve read so they prefer having one or two books they can switch between.

I haven’t experienced that with reading multiple books. I’ve only once forgotten a book I’d put down and that was The Color Purple. The only reason was, I’d left it on my bookshelf for way too long and now I cant remember anything.

I’d love to know your opinions of the books on this list. Which books should I continue reading? Which books should I give up on? Am I wasting my time reading something I’m not enjoying? Is this normal? Or is this list nothing compared to your humongous pile?

Anyway thanks for reading. I hope you all are having a great day.

Alina

Leave a Reply

