T5W: Top 5 Authors You Discovered This Year

Top 5 Wednesday (T5W) is a weekly book meme created by Lainey from GingerReadsLainey who makes book related videos on YouTube. T5W group is on GoodReads and if you’re interested in learning more about the group or Laineys channel, please click on the links above.

This weeks topic is ‘Top 5 Authors You Discovered This Year’.

Every year I try to read a book from an author I’ve never read anything by. Sometimes I regret buying the book and sometimes I’m pleasantly surprised. Below are authors that I’ve discovered can tell a story, greatly.

Revolver by Marcus Sedgewick

9527146This is a unique story and it was told in a way that I haven’t read before. I think I’ve learned of a new way to tell a story just by reading this.

Daytripper by Fabio Moon and Gabriel Ba.

8477057A fantastic graphic novel. Very philosophical. I remember liking the art style. Can’t say much else about this as it’s been a while since I’ve read it.

The Winners Curse by Marie Rutkoski

19415228I love this book. Not many authors can make me care so much about a character. I don’t remember the last time I cared this deeply for a character. I hope to read everything Marie Rutkoski has written.

SteelHeart by Brandon Sanderson

18245330I haven’t heard anyone say they don’t like Brandon Sanderson’s books so I expected to like this. It was fun and fast paced. When I try to envision the story, I see it as a cartoon. Like something I would have seen as a child.

Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta

8757361I really enjoyed reading this book. I love Melina Marchettas writing style. I hope to read all of her other books.

Thank you for reading, if you have anything to say please leave a comment below and also check out GingerReadsLainey on Youtube and her GoodReads group T5W.

I hope you’re having a great day

Alina

5 thoughts on “T5W: Top 5 Authors You Discovered This Year

    • You definitely should! Winners curse is great and I liked it for its romance, but if I could choose one of these books you should start with, I’d recommend Finnikin of the Rock. Its under appreciated. Very well written and the story telling is amazing.

      Like

Leave a Reply

