Project 10 fail and Book Haul

I don’t know what went wrong. Everything was going great and then I couldn’t read anything. I would read a few pages and then I’d get tired or bored. The books I was reading weren’t particularly boring. I guess you’d call it a slump. I’ve been stressed and I’ve had very serious issues preoccupying my mental space so I can understand why I haven’t been in the mood.

I tired to force myself but that didn’t work.

It’s not that I haven’t been able to read in almost half a year, it’s that I’d read something really easy to finish. Some months I read one book. One month I read half a book.

It feels really weird. This isn’t normal for me because of how long I’ve been feeling like this.

Not being in the mood to read didn’t stop me from buying books.

Book haul that broke my Project 10

The sad thing about this list is that some of these were available to read online as they were written more than a century ago. My excuse for wasting money is, Amazon makes it too easy to buy eBooks. Seriously. I once accidentally pressed the buy button on a book I didn’t want. I didn’t even open the book but there was no way I could return it. eBooks cant be returned.

So here’s the list:

The Souls of Black Folk by W. E. B. Du Bois (GoodReads)

Up from Slavery by Booker T. Washington (GoodReads)

Narrative of the Life of Fredrick Douglass by Fredrick Douglass (GoodReads)

How Europe Underdeveloped Africa by Walter Rodney (GoodReads)

The Willie Lynch Letter and The Making of a Slave (GoodReads)

This is horrific. I wanted to read something that could get me in the mind set of someone truly evil (for a character of course) but it made me really angry and deeply upset that something like this ever happened, but then I did some research about this book and I’d read somewhere that it’s a hoax. http://www.ferris.edu/news/jimcrow/question/may04.htm This website explains how this letter is a hoax simply by analysing the language. Some of the words that Willie Lynch uses were invented after the year 1712 (when this letter supposedly had been written).

Amulet Boxset: Books 1-3 by Kazu Kibuishi (GoodReads for Amulet #1 only)

Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami (GoodReads)

The Winners Crime by Marie Rutkoski (GoodReads)

Project 10

These are the books I read for project 10 #3:

20.  Sisters (Graphic Novel) by Raina Telemeier, May 13
21.  Daytripper (Graphic Novel) by Gabriel Ba and Fabio Moon, May 15
22.  Bossypants (Audiobook) by Tina Fey, May 15
23.  Quintana of Charyn by Melina Marchetta, May 16
24.  Scarlet by Marissa Meyer, May 20
25.  The Queens Army by Marissa Meyer, May 20
26.  P.S I Still Love You by Jenny Han, May 31

I don’t think I’m going to continue with this. It did help me at a time when I couldn’t control my spending. If I feel overwhelmed with my TBR shelf I might start this up again.

As for reading, I just hope my slump goes away. Winter is almost here and it’s the season that makes reading enjoyable and also makes me feel nostalgic after watching 90’s movies or Harry Potter.

Thanks for reading and I hope you’re having a good day.

Alina

One thought on “Project 10 fail and Book Haul

Leave a Reply

