NaNoWriMo 2015

Hi, I’m participating in NaNoWriMo this year.

If you don’t know what it is, National Novel Writing Month is a month long challenge to write at least 50,000 words in November. The event takes place every year and everyone is welcome to join.

http://nanowrimo.org/

Just click on the link and if you’d like to sign up, you can do so.

I think this site is a great resource for writers, if you take advantage of what is available for you.

You can read pep talks written by authors, connect with other writers from around the world. You can even get help writing a character or building your world.

When I tell people about this month, they always ask me ‘What do you win?’ I have to explain to them that it’s not about the prizes, it’s more about the challenge and getting yourself to write something you normally would’ve taken a year to write.

After a month long of writing, I felt calm. I had written every little detail that was in my mind, bugging me. When I tried to talk about it, I never knew what I was trying to say. I confused myself.

But after NaNoWriMo, I’d learned that, without this month pushing me to write, I wouldn’t have written as much otherwise.

Tell us more about your novel

I would love to, if I knew how. It’s so hard for me to explain what the story is about. The more I write it the more I understand but I’m still not sure I completely know what it is about.

All I can say is that it’s a High Fantasy Novel and that I was working on it last year. I’m going to rewrite it for NaNoWriMo this year.

What kind of help do you get to keep you writing?

Chocolate. I need to have chocolate. Only Cadbury’s.

Tea. I’ll drink between 2 to 3 cups a day. That might not be much for some people. But if I drink too much, it’ll mess up my sleeping schedule. (Yes I have a schedule. I love waking up early and getting to work when everyone’s asleep).

Water or orange juice. Water is very helpful. It makes me feel good, I can concentrate better. I really should drink more water daily.

Music. Only helps sometimes.

Reading. Last year I took a week long break from NaNoWriMo (not by choice. I didn’t know what to write) I read a book and felt recharged. I did have to double my writing limit for the rest of the month to catch up.

Fear and Loss

I was afraid of 50,000. But when I took part in 2014 and lost, the fear went away. I understood where I went wrong. I made mistakes with the plot. There just wasn’t much I could do with the story.

Another mistake I made was telling someone what I’m writing when my confidence was easy to shatter. It was the first time participating and I was very excited. I was so sure that it was a great novel and all I wanted to do was tell the people closest to me, thinking that they’d encourage me to write.

Eagerly, I described the story to someone. Except I told her that it was a movie I saw. When I was describing the story, her face was blank. It was clear to me that my story wasn’t as interesting as I thought.

I then told her it’s not a movie its the story I’m working on, she said ‘I know’. And that was it. I lost all confidence in my story and I lost my first time participating in NaNoWriMo.

So be weary of who you tell if you’re new to writing. Writers already have little confidence in their abilities. For me, I’ve learned to stop listening to negativity but I welcome critique.

If you’re participating this year, Congratulations! Good Luck!!

If you’d like to be my writing buddy, my username is: Alinarm19. Or you could leave a comment below letting me know your username and we can be writing buddies.

Have a nice day everyone.

Alina

9 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2015

  1. Good luck this year! I think everyone needs to have their first year participating to just get the feel of how it works for them. I’m extremely excited! I can’t believe it starts in only some amount hours. Wow where did all the time go?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

