NaNoWriMo: Day 2 (Feeling positive)

Today I posted my Day 1 of NaNoWriMo. I was going to post my 2nd day writing update tomorrow but it’s almost midnight, I thought I should post this before I head off to bed.

Second day and I’m excited to get started. I think I know what I need to write. The story is heading in a direction I never thought of and I think I can meet today’s goal. No need for chocolates, water or tea this time. I feel confident.

2:46pm I’ve been sprinting with NaNo on twitter and the prompts are really useful. It’s the challenge that keeps me motivated. Having to write in 10 minutes, 20 or even 30 minutes, actually works. I’ve surpassed today’s goal of 3333 words and I’m at 4,332 words as of now. Less than 700 words away from meeting tomorrows goal.
If I wasn’t participating in NaNoWriMo and this was just a normal writing day. I would have been so critical of all ideas that popped into my head. I would have to think about it for a long time until that particular idea fit in well with everything else.
It feels so nice to not be so critical of my work and just be excited about the story. Even if it sucks right now.

00:08am Didn’t write many updates today. There wasn’t much I’d wanted to say.

I was hoping I could have written 5,000, but having written what I have is an accomplishment. I am very happy with the progress, especially because in the past two years, on my second day I was struggling a lot. I would be so stressed out.

I wonder if in two weeks I can’t write anymore. I really hope that doesn’t happen. That’s one of the reasons why I’m not stopping with meeting just today’s goal, I want to meet tomorrows and the day after tomorrows word limit.

Write as much as you can, when you’re feeling positive, you get more work done.

Day 2: 4,580 words

P.S. I hope this is a little motivational for whoever reads this. I’m not trying to make anyone feel bad if they haven’t reached their word limit. I’ve participated in nano before and my attitude this year is a lot different to the previous years. I’m not taking myself too seriously which is definitely helping. It doesn’t have to be ‘stress, stress, stress’ all the time.

Writing my thoughts helps me process my experiences better and I learn a lot from it. I hope this helps you in some way.

Alina

Leave a Reply

