Top Ten Debut Authors Who Have Me Looking Forward To Their Sophomore Novel

Top Ten Tuesday (TTT) created by The Broke and the Bookish is an original feature/weekly meme in which any one who participates must talk about their top ten books. This weeks topic is ‘Top Ten Debut Authors Who Have Me Looking Forward To Their Sophomore Novel’.

For anyone who wishes to participate in Top Ten Tuesday, click the link here to read the rules for participation.

It was really hard for me to come up with this one because I haven’t read many books from debut authors but the ones I have read, I’ve already read their Sophomore novels so I thought I could switch it up and count a trilogy or a quartet as a whole book from a debut author.

The authors on this is list are the debut authors who’s books I’ve enjoyed and I’m interested in reading what ever else they release.

  1. Laini Taylor

Laini_Taylor

I didn’t quite love ‘Daughter of Smoke and Bone’ but I loved Laini Taylors writing. The world she built is interesting and her writing style is very unique to me.

2. Stephanie Perkins

stephanie perkins

Her books are adorable, ‘Anna and the French Kiss’ definitely was. I never thought I’d like it as much as I did.

3. Marissa Meyer

marissa-meyer

‘Cinder’ and ‘Scarlet’ are the only books I’ve read by her and even though I didn’t love them (they weren’t bad, just didn’t love them as much as other people). I’m still going to consider reading what ever else she releases.

4. Veronica Roth

 Veronica Roth

‘Divergent’ got me to love reading Y.A. I wasn’t a reader growing up and the only Y.A I had read was by Colleen Hoover. After ‘Divergent’, I couldn’t stop reading.

5. Huntley Fitzpatrick

huntley fitzpatrick

‘My life next door’ surprised me. It was a lot better than I expected. It was really good. Characters were well thought out. I envisioned all of them as real people.

6. Leigh Bardugo

leigh bardugo

This was the first time I’d read a book where the main character had my name and she’s Russian-my ancestors were Russian. I felt connected to the character ‘Alina’ more so than any other character and I loved the world building. I really want to read ‘Six of crows’.

7. Tahereh Mafi

SANTA MONICA, CA - NOVEMBER 05:  Writer Tahereh Mafi attends the Bold Ink Awards at the Eli and Edythe Broad Stage on November 5, 2012 in Santa Monica, California.  (Photo by David Livingston/Getty Images)

Her writing style makes her stand out. Her next book is going to be ‘Middle Grade’ which I think is perfect for her style of writing.

8. Michelle Hodkin

michelle hodkin

‘Mara Dyer’ trilogy, was fast paced and intriguing. I think I’d like what ever else she writes.

9. Veronica Rossi

veronica rossi

I haven’t read the trilogy yet, just the first book. The world building in was my favourite part of the story. She made it easier for me to envision the world she had created.

Didn’t quite get to ten this time. This was a hard list to do, but I wanted to write this regardless.

Thank you for reading and I hope you’re having a great day.

Alina

Leave a Reply

