The Liebster Award

Thank you to the lovely Julia Slaughter for thinking of me for this award. Please check out her blog, follow her, maybe even leave her a comment.

Sorry about the delay Julia. It took me a lot longer than I thought it would to write this.

What I know about the Liebster Award is, it’s a tag passed on from blogger to blogger, for readers to be introduced to blogs, they may or may not be aware of.

The Rules:

  1. Thank the person who nominated you and link to their blog.
  2. Answer the 11 questions your nominator gave you.
  3. Tag 11 bloggers with less than 1,000 readers.
  4. Think of 11 questions for the bloggers you have nominated.
  5. Let them know you have nominated them through social media or their blog.

 

Questions from Julia:

1- What’s your “go to” comfort food?

Pasta. It’s easy to make and it’s filling. I have to have salad with it. Salad makes everything taste better in my opinion.

2- If you won the lottery, what’s the first thing you would do when you got the money?

Buy a house in Spain. I’ve been hoping to move there for a couple of years now. Not sure when exactly I’ll be able to do that. Or I’d travel to east Asia and find a good place to live, temporarily.

Or, open my own business. I have been jotting down ideas for a restaurant I’d like to open for the past 8 years. I think I’ve figured out the location, but I don’t want to rush anything. If had enough money saved to open it myself, I would take a hiatus from writing.

3- What’s your favorite holiday and why?

National holiday? or holiday (going abroad)?

I don’t celebrate any national holidays (except maybe Bonfire Night, but I’m too old for that). I enjoy the atmosphere in November and December. Everyone seems happier. They look forward to Christmas and New Years. The Christmas lights are everywhere. When I was a kid, my dad used to take me and my siblings out to see the lights.

Holiday (going abroad). What I love about living in England, is the access to Europe and being able to visit so many countries. I have fond memories of visiting Denmark and Germany, and the drive to and from there.

One of the best holidays I remember having is spending my summer in Canada with my cousins. I remember having a lot of fun. We had many water fights, did a lot of touristy things and it was just the best.

4- Do you have any traditions that other people might think are unusual or interesting? If so, what are they?

The only thing I can think of, that other people have told me it’s weird is that I don’t like to eat cake on my birthday. It’s not interesting but maybe unusual. The thing is, it just doesn’t taste good. I’ll eat it anytime of the year but on my birthday, I’m never in the mood.

Instead I’d ask my mum to make Lasagna. So now I have Lasagna once a year, only on my birthday.

5- Do you know anything about your family history? Do you wish you knew more?

I know quite a bit about my family history, I would like to know more.

I know that Alexander the Great fought with an Indian Emperor (not too sure of the details), in the area where my father was born many, many years later.

My great, great, great (I don’t remember how many great) grand father was a scholar and adviser to the Mughal Emperor Akbar in India. And for his honesty, he was rewarded a large amount of land in Pakistan and he’s named after it. He also built a school, in which my cousin sister studied and graduated from.

I do wish I knew more, because everyone in my family looks different. No one looks like they’re from one ethnic group. E.g. my father looks Chinese and Arab and my mother looks Indonesian, Persian or Russian.

I think what I’d love to know is my genealogy and who were these people. I’d also like to visit those places that my ancestors are from and learn more about their lives. But I don’t think there’s much information out there for me to find.

6- Are you the kind of person that makes friends everywhere they go?

I love to meet new people. I don’t find it difficult to talk to people, but as I get older I don’t enjoy small talk.

Small talk gets in the way of making a proper connection with people, but it can sometimes be useful for getting to know more about a person. For me friendship comes through having real conversations with people.

I like deep conversations and being able to learn how to improve myself and help others in any way I can through conversation, that’s generally how I make friends, by learning about the person for who they are, how they think. I truly value all of my friends for their unique personalities.

As for making friends everywhere I go? I don’t know. Maybe. I’m not very shy in front of new people and most of the time I will talk first.

7- Is there a book you read in your childhood (or when you were younger) that you still like to revisit? If so what book and what brings you back to it? (If you’re not a reader, maybe a movie or TV show instead)

I wasn’t a reader as a kid. My mum used to read to me but I never wanted to read for myself. I like to watch Christmas movies, Robin Williams movies, or Matilda. But I only like to watch these with my sister. It’s not fun to watch on my own.

I don’t re read books, but one that I read I think 5 or 6 years ago was ‘The Story of Layla and Majnun’ I love the writing style and I read a few pages a month ago and I didn’t want to put it down. Unfortunately I have a large TBR pile and I always feel like I shouldn’t be re reading books when I have spent so much money on books I still haven’t read.

8- What fictional character (can be from any media) would you most like to have lunch with?

Fresh Prince is the first that came to mind, I think it’s because of the last question, got me feeling nostalgic. I think we’d have a laugh.

Arin from The Winner’s Curse because he’s kinda intense and I understand his pain more than Kestrel. We can have some good conversations that would force me to expand my world view. Maybe Gansey from The Raven Cycle can join us, I’d like to listen to him talk about things he’s learned.

I haven’t been able to relate to any female characters. Not a single one I’ve read about. I hope I can write a complex female character I can fully relate to.

I know this question isn’t about relatability, I’m just thinking about the type of people I’d like to have a conversation with and I wouldn’t feel uncomfortable if neither of us say a word. But when some one does speak, its something to think about.

Someone who’s not a fictional character, I’d like to have lunch with is Amy Poehler. She’s so supportive 0f women and really funny.

9- Is there something you like to splurge/treat yourself with? What is it?

I like to treat myself with things from Amazon. From art supplies to books. Anything really.

10- What’s your guilty pleasure?

I don’t think I have one anymore. I used to watch reality shows about rich privileged kids and I’d get really invested in their lives and then I realised I was preventing myself from making money or doing something useful with my time.

I’m not knocking anyone for watching them. I just don’t like how they make me feel.

11- Where do you stand on the “Fast Zombies” issue? (In other words, if there are zombies do you believe it’s possible for them to move crazy fast or more slow and shuffling?)

No, zombies will forever be slow. Their insides are rotting. How can they walk fast? Maybe if they have bionic legs. That would be pretty cool. Half zombie, half robot. But I can imagine the bionic legs tearing apart from the rotting zombie body.

Yup Zombies are slow.

 

People I’ve nominated:

I don’t spend a lot of time blogging. If ever I am, I’ll spend hours on here. The following people I’m nominating, I’d love to learn more about them. For anyone reading this, please check out these lovely peoples blogs. They all put a lot of time and effort into it and it shows.

1- Tasha, Head in the clouds, heart in the books

17, from Malaysia. A supportive and lovely person I’d like to know a little bit more better.

2- Joan, Fiddler Blue

Fellow K-pop lover. An inquisitive person with a great taste in lit and tv shows.

3- Regina, The Bibliothèque 

I love her blog. I’m so jealous.

4- Daniel, DanielWaltztwt

A published writer with a sunny personality.

5- Jessica, Mud and Stars

A hardworking book blogger, working in the publishing industry. And like me, Jessica is a 25 yr old Brit.

6- Erika, Erika in Bookventureland

Book lover with a great blog. I’ve noticed on GoodReads, we like and dislike similar books. I don’t meet many people I can share that with.

 

The Questions!

  1. Why did you start blogging?
  2. What/who inspires you?
  3. What do you love most about where you live?
  4. Where would you like to be in 5 years time?
  5. Movie or tv show seen recently? Did you like it?
  6. Recommend some music OR write your favourite type of music.
  7. If you could meet any ‘famous’ person, who would you want to meet and what would you talk about?
  8. Favourite place you’ve visited?
  9. What 3 words describe you best?
  10. Tell me something surprising about yourself. No pressure 😀
  11. Where is your happy place?

 

Thank you again to Julia, I am so happy to have been nominated by you.

 

Have a great day!

Alina

8 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

  1. Thank you so much for the nomination 🙂 Really enjoyed reading your answers, and I am loving the idea of birthday lasagne! I feel exactly the same way about small talk, I think mainly because I’m really bad at it – it stops me from thinking of interesting things to say and makes me feel like I’m the most boring person in the world haha! Also I found what you said about not being able to relate to female characters in books really interesting – what do you think it is that makes them unrelatable? I do sometimes think that female characters can be shovedd into one of two categories in fiction, especially in genres like fantasy… and romance, come to think of it. Anyway, thank again for the tag, and I hope to do this one soon (although I’m really sorry if it takes me a long time to get there, I have a bit of a back log of blog posts at the moment as life got a bit hectic!) 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • No probs 🙂 you get to it whenever you have time.
      I dont know what it is about the female characters, maybe its the books I’ve read. I should have written that Blu from the Raven Cycle is the only female character I feel I can relate to, but that said, Ronan is more relatable to me. I think it’s the females naivete that I can’t relate to.
      Before I started writing the book I’m working on now, I had to think about ‘how to write female characters’, writing from a males perspective made more sense to me. It’s so strange that I thought like that.

      I can understand that feeling of being the most boring person. But I don’t think that anymore and neither should you. You just want to have interesting conversations with people. Interesting doesn’t equal boring. It might be good to small talk with people on the bus or whatever but I never have anything to say or ask.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I know what you mean – I also find it easier to write from a male perspective, but I’m not sure why! I think it’s partly because when I write a female character I’m paranoid I’m making her too much like me. Naivety in characters is definitely something that crops up quite a lot in books – unless there’s a very good reason for it (like they’ve been sheltered from society their entire life), it’s pretty irritating/hard to relate to, so I definitely agree with you on that. I have never read the Raven Cycle, but I do have the first book on my bookshelf waiting to be read at some point 🙂 I’ll let you know how I get on when I get round to starting it!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Writing a female character like yourself is fine. You’re making the character realistic. The more you write, the more you learn about how to tell a story.
        Raven boys is hard to get into. Read it when you’re in the mood. Yh and lemme know how ur getting on with it. Are you on GoodReads?
        Sorry it took me a while to get back to you. My weekdays are pretty busy.

        Liked by 1 person

      • That’s true actually – it is easier to make characters believable if you give them quirks that belong to real people. Maybe I should stop worrying so much about this 🙂 Yes I found Raven Boys hard to get into, I read the first couple of chapters and ended up abandoning it, but I definitely want to go back to it at some point. I’ll let you know when I pick it up again 🙂 I am indeed on Goodreads – my username is mudandstars like my blog – what about you? And no need to apologise, I generally take ages to reply to blog comments because life gets in the way!

        Liked by 1 person

      • I was the same when I first started it. Then one day I felt like reading it. One of the best series I’ve read. The characters feel very real to me.
        I’ve just added you on GR’s 🙂 I think my GR is just Alina. I made it before I started blogging.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

