Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Please read this post if you enjoy reading spoilers.

Synopsis:

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

Review

I enjoy reading Y.A and I don’t want to stop but sometimes I think when I don’t enjoy a book, it’s my own fault. Maybe I need to read books that are written for my age group, maybe then I’d be a better judge of the story.

I think I might be missing something, this is what goes through my mind when a book has great reviews and I just didn’t enjoy it.
It was an easy book to read and I flew through it. The writing was great and I liked the protagonist (Madeline), she was nice, weird way to describe her but that’s all she was. I didn’t care too much for her because to me she seemed to be underdeveloped.

Oliver (love interest), I didn’t understand his interest in Madeline and what he loved about her (this probably has more to do with Madeline’s underdevelopment). His family situation isn’t anything new to me, I’ve read about it time and time again but those books have done a better job of explaining the effects it has on characters. Why wasn’t Madeline more concerned? Why wasn’t the police called when Madeline’s mother saw it happen? What about his sister, we learn nothing about her, except that she smokes. What really made the family leave because the reason given wasn’t good enough and I couldn’t understand it.

The romance bloomed too fast. It grew even before I had a chance to root for the characters to get together. I didn’t care too much for it. His interest in her was too much, too fast. Then the messaging was a little strange in the beginning. I knew that for her it was the first time being around someone, and being attracted to him. But for him, his feelings were unknown to me.

Some parts I really felt for her, she had no friends and she was just too nice about not being able to talk to Oliver or when Carla got fired. Yes, she felt sorry for her mother. I know what that’s like. But at 18, bring exposed to new and different things, I wouldn’t have been able to give up on those things. Maybe I was too stubborn for my own good, I found ways to get what I wanted because life feels short at that age.

What disappointed me was how this story went from a girl with an immune disease (SCID) to being a normal girl, I wish this story was a about someone with her condition. It was important. That’s why I read the book.

Did I miss something?

How did she find where Oliver had moved to? He didn’t say in an email.

Oh yeah, I cried when Carla got fired. Not something to cry about, I don’t know what came over me. Feeling a little emotional. Carla and her mum were the only people in Madeline’s life. She lost a friend. I couldn’t believe her mum didn’t see it that way. Plus Madeline was fine. She had no health issues, allow Carla to stay.

Have you read Everything, Everything? What did you think about the book?

Feel free to leave a comment below.

 

Hope you all are having a great day,

Alina

4 thoughts on “Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

  1. I’m with you on the romance. It came on way too strong and way too fast. I wish they had gotten more into the psychology of the mother — the twist was so fascinating, but I never felt like it got fully played out, ya know?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

