‘Lola and the Boy Next Door’ by Stephanie Perkins

This review may include spoilers

Young Adult, Romance, Contemporary |Genre
384 pages |Kindle Edition
September 28th 2011 |Published

Synopsis:
Life is pretty close to perfect for budding designer Lola Nolan, especially with her hot rocker boyfriend. That is, until the Bell twins, Calliope and Cricket, return to the neighbourhood and unearth a past of hurt that Lola thought was long buried. So when talented inventor Cricket steps out from his twin sister’s shadow and back into Lola’s life, she must finally face up to a lifetime of feelings for the boy next door. Could the boy from Lola’s past be the love of her future?

My Review:

Before I began to read this, I was apprehensive. I didn’t expect to like this. I felt like I was too old to be reading this or that I won’t be able to connect with what the protagonist might be experiencing, which was true, I couldn’t really connect with Lola but I tried really hard to understand her.

Lola’s a year younger than Anna and not as mature as her either, which made it quite difficult for me to connect with her at first, but as I continued reading, I found that I could relate to Lola even more.

She and Cricket were enjoyable to read about and the book is actually wonderfully written.

I loved Stephanie Perkins writing and story-telling in Anna and the French Kiss and I was more interested in reading Isla and the Happily Ever After (the third book), but I thought it was necessary to read Lola and the Boy Next Door first because it might be necessary if I didn’t want to be confused whilst reading the third book.

This book just wasn’t for me. I didn’t have problems with the writing or the characters. I think I just liked Anna and the French Kiss way too much and I know the importance of not comparing an authors book with another book of theirs but I can’t help it.

 

Feel free to leave a comment below and let me know what you thought of the review or the book.
Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

