Ten Books I Really Love But Feel Like I Haven’t Talked About Enough/In A While

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. This weeks theme is: Ten Books I Really Love But Feel Like I Haven’t Talked About Enough/In A While

I don’t think I’ve talked about most of these books here.

The Story of Layla and Majnun

Five years have past since I read this book. At the time I wasn’t aware of the different writing styles, I just knew I loved the way it was written. I know some people aren’t fans of prose, those people should give this book a chance.

This 12th century Persian ‘love’ story plays with your emotions in a way that you feel pity for the characters but also frustration and understanding. And no matter how much you hate the mistakes the characters make, it doesn’t make a novel bad. This story is still one of my favourite novels ever.

How to Love

Once in a while I like to pick up a contemporary romance novel and so many times I’ve been disappointed by it. ‘How to Love’ however was not what I thought it would be. I was expecting a fluffy romance novel but it really deals with some serious issues, which brought many of the characters and their relationships to life.

Froi of the Exiles

Froi, such a complicated character. I plan on reviewing this very soon.

The Winners Curse

Arin <3. Review already up.

Between the World and Me

Everyone should listen to the audiobook rather than reading this book.

The Great Gatsby

Hard for me to talk about this in one paragraph. A concise novel with so much depth.

Blankets

Amazing art style and an enthralling read.

Daytripper

Another art style I loved. Philosophical Graphic novel which makes you think.

The Raven Boys

Such great characters that the plot doesn’t even matter to me. I love reading about their lives. Impressed by the evil/menacing characters, they seem so real and like they could be a real threat.

My Life Next Door

Surprising read. The importance of family and parents are shown in this contemporary and not ignored.

 

I was surprised by this list. I didn’t think I liked romance in novels as much. What do you of this list? Do we share favourites? What are your favourites? Let me know down below.

I hope you’re having a great day and thanks for reading.

Alina

5 thoughts on “Ten Books I Really Love But Feel Like I Haven’t Talked About Enough/In A While

  1. Yay, I added The Winner’s Curse to my TBR list just yesterday. I’d been dragging my feet about reading it because it had some mixed reviews. The Great Gatsby, yes! F. Scott Fitzgerald is one of my favorites.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah I noticed the mixed reviews too and people not liking Arin. But I thought his actions were justified. It made sense.
      After you read The Winners Curse, you should read Bridge of Snow, beautifully written, heart breaking novella about Arin and his mother.

      P.S. Yaay! Great Gatsby!

      Like

Leave a Reply

