T5W: Books you DNF

Top 5 Wednesday (T5W) is a weekly book meme created by Lainey from GingerReadsLainey who makes book related videos on YouTube. T5W group is on GoodReads and if you’re interested in learning more about the group or Laineys channel, please click on the links above.

This weeks topic is ‘Top 5 books you DNF’.

1

sea of tranquility

Omg how much I disliked the female protagonist. Her actions made no sense. Before this book, I never DNF’d a book.

2

kingdom of little wounds

Beautiful cover but very slow pacing. Reading 100 pages felt like forever. I still think I can finish it but I really don’t want to read it anymore.

3

retibution of mara dyer

The release for this got delayed and when it did come out, I lost interest. I did start it and I didn’t mind the writing. But then I got to this one chapter that I can’t get past.

4

ruin and rising

 I don’t know how I finished ‘Siege and Storm’, the second book in the trilogy. And I probably shouldn’t have started this. I can’t get used to the way this is written and it’s preventing me from enjoying the story or empathising with the characters.

5

cress

Seriously, I don’t understand the hype with this series. I somehow read ‘Cinder’, all the while not really loving the story but thinking there’s probably something wrong with me for not liking it as much. I couldn’t read ‘Scarlet’ either, I listened to it on my kindle, using kindle’s annoying robotic voice (which I’ve don’t mind so much anymore).

I do however like Thorne and Cress but it’s not enough to get me to finish this novel.

 

What I’ve learned from this is that, not all Y.A books are for me. I’m looking for more grown-up books. And when I don’t like something, I shouldn’t waste my time on it.

 

I hope I haven’t offended anyone with this list. Thank you for reading. I hope you’re having a great day.

Alina

3 thoughts on “T5W: Books you DNF

  1. Who cares if you offended someone? Its books, not the pope! 🙂

    I actually enjoyed Cinder, but Scarlet absolutely sucked, and Cress wasn’t much better. My review on that one just came out yesterday, actually. I won’t be continuing the series.

    My T5W

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

